Before Awards Feeder delivers its final Oscar predictions later today, Film-Independent-Spirit-Awards-Logo_jpg_300x267_q100some news about the winners of the 29th Independent Spirit Awards!

It was 12 Years A Slave‘s time to shine by picking up five awards at the ceremony, which celebrates the best in independent film of the past year. Steve McQueen’s harrowing slavery drama won Best Feature, Best Director, Best Supporting Female (Lupita Nyong’o), Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography.

For the other acting categories, Oscar frontrunners Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto picked up Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor gongs for their respective turns in Dallas Buyers Club, while Oscar near-lock Cate Blanchett continued her unstoppable rampage through the awards season by picking up yet another Best Actress prize for Blue Jasmine.

Fruitvale Station, directed by Ryan Coogler and starring future Fantastic Four member Michael B. Jordan, was awarded the Best First Feature prize, writer Bob Nelson won Best First Screenplay for Alexander Payne’s Nebraska, controversial French romance Blue Is The Warmest Colour walked away with Best International Film, and even the excellent Short Term 12 got recognised for Best Editing.

A full list of winners (highlighted in bold) are below:

Best Feature
All is Lost
Frances Ha
Inside Llewyn Davis
12 Years a Slave
Best Director
J.C. Chandor, “All is Lost”
Jeff  Nichols, “Mud”
Alexander Payne, “Nebraska”
Steve McQueen, “12 Years a  Slave”
Shane Carruth, “Upstream Color”
Best First Feature
Blue Caprice
Fruitvale Station
Una Noche
Best Screenplay
Before Midnight
Blue Jasmine
Enough Said
The Spectacular Now
12 Years a Slave
Best First Screenplay
Afternoon Delight
Don Jon
In a World
The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pet
Best Female Lead
Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”
Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight”
Gaby Hoffman, “Crystal Fairy”
Brie Larson, “Short Term 12”
Shailene Woodley, “The Spectacular Now”
Best Male Lead
Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”
Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Michael B. Jordan, “Fruitvale Station”
Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”
Robert Redford, “All is Lost”
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”
Best Supporting Female
Melonie Diaz, “Fruitvale  Station”
Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine”
Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a  Slave”
Yolonda Ross, “Go For Sisters”
June Squibb, “Nebraska”
Best Supporting Male
Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a  Slave”
Will Forte, “Nebraska”
James Gandolfini, “Enough Said”
Jared  Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club”
Keith Stanfield, “Short Term 12”
Best Cinematography
All is Lost
Computer Chess
Inside Llewyn Davis
Spring Breakers
12 Years a  Slave
Best Editing
Frances Ha
Museum Hours
Short  Term 12
Una Noche
Upstream Color
Best Documentary
The Act of Killing
After  Tiller
Gideon’s Army
The Square
20 Feet from Stardom
Best International Film
Blue is the Warmest Color
The Great Beauty
The Hunt
A Touch of Sin
Robert Altman Award
John Cassavetes Award
Computer Chess
Crystal Fairy
Museum Hours
Pit Stop
This is Martin Bonner
Piaget Producers Award
Toby Halbrooks & James M.  Johnston
Jacob Jaffke
Andrea Roa
Frederick Thornton
Someone to Watch Award
Aaron Douglas Johnston, “My  Sisters Quinceañera”
Shaka King, “Newlyweeds”
Madeline Olnek, “The Foxy  Merkins”
Truer Than Fiction Award
Kalyanee Mam, “A River Changes Course”
Jason Osder, “Let the Fire Burn”
Stephanie Spray & Pacho Valez, “Manakamana”